Quick Answer: Is Stage 1 an environmental clearance?

What is an environmental clearance?

Environmental Clearance is the procedure to get clearance from the government for the installation and modification (amendment) of certain projects. It is mandatory for projects which can cause high environmental Pollution.

At what stage of the project does the environmental clearance have is required?

All units seeking environmental clearance under the Water or Air Acts or Authorisation under the Hazardous Wastes (Management & Handling) Rules, beginning 1993, are required to submit duly filled in environmental statements for the period ending 31 March on or before 30 September every year to the concerned State …

What projects require environmental clearance?


  • Mining of Minerals.
  • Offshore and Onshore oil and gas exploration, development & production.
  • River Valley Projects.
  • Thermal Power Plants.
  • Nuclear Power Projects and Processing of Nuclear Fuel.

What are the stages of environmental clearance?

The environmental clearance process comprises of four stages, namely, Stage (1) Screening; Stage (2) Scoping; Stage (3) Public Consultation and Stage (4) Appraisal.

IT IS INTERESTING:  In what way do hunters support wildlife conservation quizlet?

Who needs environmental clearance certificate?

The Environmental Clearance Certificate is mandatory requirement for the project activities included in the Schedule of EIA notification dated 14th September 2006 { under Environment (Protection ) Act 1986} , before initiating any project related activities on the site .

Which are the two authorities empowered to grant environmental clearance under the 2006 EIA notification?

The EIA Notification calls these two authorities as Regulatory Authorities. For bigger projects, which fall under Category A in the Schedule, the MoEF issues the EC. For smaller projects- Category B, the SEIAA- a Central Government authority operating in each state, issues the clearance.

Who gives environmental clearance in India?

A nod from the expert panels – the National Board for Wildlife (NBWL), the Forest Advisory Committee (FAC) and 10 Expert Appraisal Committees (EAC) – is necessary for projects to get green clearances from the central government’s Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MoEFCC).

How do I get environmental clearance for mining?

Site clearance will be given for site specific projects as mentioned in para-2(ii) of the notification. Application for obtaining site clearance from MOEF has to be submitted along with 2 copies of EIA/EMP report through the concerned State Department.

How many stages are there in EIA?

Stages of the EIA process

EIA has 5 main stages. If an EIA is required, an Environmental Assessment Impact Report will be written and submitted with the application for development consent. The public will have the chance to comment. This makes sure you’re given a chance to be involved in decision making.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What type of waste is poop?

Which category projects require prior environmental clearance from central government?

Industrial estates with area greater than 500 ha. and housing at least one Category B industry. Industrial estates housing at least one Category B industry and area <500 ha. Industrial estates of area> 500 ha.