What are the five conservation categories of wildlife?

What are the 5 conservation categories of wildlife?

What does each category mean ?

  • Extinct or Extinct in the Wild.
  • Critically Endangered, Endangered and Vulnerable: species threatened with global extinction.
  • Near Threatened: species close to the threatened thresholds or that would be threatened without ongoing conservation measures.

What are the types of conservation of wildlife?

The important methods adopted for conservation of wildlife in India are described below:

  • Habitat management: …
  • Establishment of protected area: …
  • Rehabilitation of Endangered species: …
  • Captive breeding programme: …
  • Mass education: …
  • Promulgation of laws:

What are the categories for conservation?

It divides species into nine categories, of which the official term ‘threatened is a subset of three categories: Critically Endangered, Endangered, and Vulnerable:

  • Extinct (EX)
  • Extinct in the Wild (EW)
  • Critically Endangered (CR)
  • Endangered (EN)
  • Vulnerable (VU)
  • Near Threatened (NT)
  • Least Concern (LC)
  • Data Deficient (DD)

What is the categories for species conservation status?

It divides species into nine categories: Not Evaluated, Data Deficient, Least Concern, Near Threatened, Vulnerable, Endangered, Critically Endangered, Extinct in the Wild and Extinct.

What are wildlife species categories?

Wildlife Categories

  • Large mammals.
  • Small mammals.
  • Upland birds.
  • Waterfowl and wetland birds.
  • Birds of prey.
IT IS INTERESTING:  Is recycled paper safe to use?

What is wildlife conservation and the two types of conservation?

Wildlife conservation efforts involve habitat conservation, endangered and keystone species protection, ex-situ efforts, and poaching prevention. These strategies each have strengths and limitations, and are often used together.

What is meant by wildlife conservation?

Wildlife conservation can be defined as the practice of protecting animal species and their habitats. … Generally, we apply wildlife conservation to species that are in danger of becoming extinct by unnatural causes. These can be causes such as pollution, climate change, unreasonable laws.

Which of the following category of the animals are to be conserved at the highest priority?

WWF-India works on the following priority species that have global and/or national importance: Bengal tiger. Asian elephant. Indian or greater one-horned rhino.