What is a protected area under Wildlife Protection Act?

What are three types of Protected Areas?

National parks, Migratory Bird Sanctuaries, National Wildlife Areas and areas of marine protection.

What is a protected area describe the Protected Areas of India for wildlife?

There are four categories of protected areas in India, constituted under the Wildlife Protection Act, 1972. Tiger reserves consist of areas under national parks and wildlife sanctuaries. There are 52 tiger reserves in India.

What are the different types of Protected Areas?

There are 4 categories of the Protected Areas viz, National Parks, Sanctuaries, Conservation Reserves and Community Reserves. Sanctuary is an area which is of adequate ecological, faunal, floral, geomorphological, natural or zoological significance.

What is a protected area called?

Protected areas – national parks, wilderness areas, community conserved areas, nature reserves and so on – are a mainstay of biodiversity conservation, while also contributing to people’s livelihoods, particularly at the local level.

Which of the following is not a protected area?

The correct answer is Zoo.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Is LDPE 4 plastic recyclable?

How many protected areas are there?

Protected Areas of India

Year No. of National Parks Total Area under Protected Areas (km2)
2017 103 162092.49
2018 104 162099.47
2019 101 1,65,012.59
2020 104 1,71,921

What is protected in national parks?

National parks encompass vast landscapes, seashores, mountains, rivers, deserts, and hundreds of historical and cultural sites.

What is contiguous protected area?

Two or more contiguous protected areas across a national boundary. A cluster of protected areas and the intervening land. A cluster of separated protected areas without intervening land. A trans-border area including proposed protected areas.

What are the different areas restricted to protect flora and fauna?

It is divided into three zones for different activities: (i) Core zone where no human activity is permitted. It is also known as natural zone. (ii) Buffer zone where limited human activity is allowed. (iii) Manipulation zone where several human activities are permitted.

Which of the following is largest and multipurpose protected area?

Biosphere reserves are the largest and can comprise several national park and sanctuaries together.

What are the different protected areas write briefly about each one of the protected areas?

here are four categories of Protected areas in India Constituted under the provisions of Wildlife ( Protection) ACT, 1972. Tiger Reserves are constituted by including the areas of National parks and Wildlife sanctuaries. There are 50 tiger reserves in India.