What is last stage in prior environmental clearance process?

What are the stages of environmental clearance?

The environmental clearance process comprises of four stages, namely, Stage (1) Screening; Stage (2) Scoping; Stage (3) Public Consultation and Stage (4) Appraisal.

What is the last stage of EIA?

Decision-Making: The final decision is based on the EIA to approve or reject the project. This is open to administrative or judicial review based on procedural aspects.

What are the four stages in EIA process?

Stages of the EIA process

  • Screening. Deciding if an EIA is required.
  • Scoping. Deciding what needs to be covered in the assessment and reported in the ‘EIA Report’
  • Preparing the EIA Report. …
  • Making an application and consultation. …
  • Decision making. …
  • Post decision.

What is prior environmental clearance?

The prior environmental clearance in terms of 2006 notification issued under Section 3 of the Environment (Protection) Act, 1986 Act read with Rule 5 of the Environment (Protection) Rules, 1986, is required to be taken before commencement of the “actual construction or building work” of the national highway by the

What is the validity of environmental clearance?

The clearance granted shall be valid for a period of five years for commencements of the construction or operation of the project. The process is summarised in Figure 2.1: Environmental clearance process in India. Involvement of the public is one of the fundamental principles of a successful EIA process.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Can you recycle plastic balls?

Which would be the second step in an EIA?

Learn – Step 2: Scoping

  1. Identifying all relevant issues and factors, including cumulative effects, social impacts, and health risks.
  2. Facilitating meaningful public engagement and review.
  3. Determining the appropriate time and space boundaries of the EIA.

What is a scoping process?

Scoping is a process that develops a written document (“scope”) which outlines the topics and analyses of potential environmental impacts of an action that will be addressed in a draft environmental impact statement (DEIS, or draft EIS).

What is EIA checklist?

This checklist covers all elements of typical environmental impact assessment documents, including: Purpose and Need; Project Alternatives; Description of the Environmental Setting (both natural and socioeconomic); Assessment of Potential Environmental Impacts; and Mitigation and Monitoring Measures.

Which step in the EIA process suggests whether an EIA is necessary?

Screening: First stage of EIA, which determines whether the proposed project, requires an EIA and if it does, then the level of assessment required. Scoping: This stage identifies the key issues and impacts that should be further investigated. This stage also defines the boundary and time limit of the study.